33 McAllen ISD students land on Academic All-State Teams

Thirty-three students from McAllen High, McAllen Memorial and James “Nikki” Rowe High have earned spots on the 2019 Texas High School Coaches Association Academic All-State Teams, including one on the Elite Team – the highest honor.

The list included 30 football players, a student team manager and two cross country runners.

Memorial linebacker Michael Morales was named to the Elite Team. Other Memorial football players on the All-Academic Team include defensive lineman Aaron Williams (Honorable Mention), running back Campbell Speights (Second Team), offensive lineman Christopher Rodriguez (Second Team), offensive lineman Dago Gutierrez (Second Team), quarterback Joseph Lara (Honorable Mention), defensive back Justin Chairez (Honorable Mention), wide receiver Marco Rosales (Honorable Mention), linebacker Matthew Silguero (Second Team), defensive back Michael Pequeno (Honorable Mention), wide receiver Nick Nelson (Honorable Mention) and defensive lineman Sebastian Turk (Honorable Mention).

The McAllen High football players include wide receiver Brian Garza (Honorable Mention), defensive back Dylan Suarez (Second Team), defensive lineman Eduardo Miranda (Second Team), wide receiver Ethan Noyola (Second Team), defensive back Jackson Helmcamp (Honorable Mention), defensive lineman Jaime Hurtado (Honorable Mention), linebacker Trace Gagne (Honorable Mention), linebacker Roland Briseno (Honorable Mention), defensive back Tyler Zachman (Honorable Mention) and defensive back Vance Bramble (Honorable Mention).

McAllen High football team manager Kevin Huerta earned a spot on the Second Team.

The Rowe High football players include offensive lineman Aalok Zimmerman (Second Team), linebacker Emilio Topete (Honorable Mention), offensive lineman Jacob Mata (Honorable Mention), linebacker Jean Salinas (Honorable Mention), linebacker John Meehan (Honorable Mention), quarterback Jonas Ortiz (Second Team), wide receiver Michael De Leon (Second Team) and running back Roque Rodriguez (Honorable Mention).

The two cross country competitors are both from Rowe. They are Janie Delgado (Second Team) and Laurynn Garcia (Second Team).

The THSCA Academic All-State Teams recognize high school athletes who excel in GPA, class rank and ACT/SAT score.

To be nominated for Academic All-State, a student must be:

• An athlete, student trainer or manager in good standing with the team

• Of good moral character

• A senior

• Have an overall grade point average of 92 or above (including courses from grades 9-11 and courses completed from grade 12). Weighted GPAs are accepted.