McAllen High, Memorial High earn national Yearbook awards

Two McAllen ISD schools have received national awards for their yearbooks.

McAllen High and McAllen Memorial High each received an Honorable Mention for their 2019 yearbooks for Balfour’s 34th edition of The Yearbook Yearbook.

The 2020 Yearbook Yearbook showcases exceptional work in theme development, design and photography from publications across the U.S. and overseas.

“To be considered for inclusion in The Yearbook Yearbook is indicative of your staff’s commitment to excellence, work ethic and creativity,” Gaylene Mabry, representing the Balfour Yearbooks Team, wrote in an email. “Thank you too, as adviser for your publication, for your leadership and inspiring your team to produce their best work. On behalf of everyone here at Balfour, congratulations again on your inclusion in the 2020 Yearbook Yearbook.”

Both McAllen High and Memorial High’s journalism departments will receive a certificate of recognition.

McAllen High’s 2018-19 Yearbook staff includes Liliana Beatriz Hernandez and Tayo Jones, Editors-in-Chief; Gwendolyn Hernandez, Head Photographer; Thalia Lee Menchaca, Copy Editor;   Averie Moes, Sales Manager along with staff members Eric Ruiz, Heather Pena, Samantha Tedder, Kacie Fielder, Frida Rios, Aaron Nixon, Julieann Rodriguez, Kylynn Loredo, Nicholaus Guerra, Sofia Rodriguez, Valerie Perez, Jacqueline Cavazos, Alexa Gonzalez, Nicole Villarreal, Delaney Garcia, Averie Gomez, Emily Zamora, Emily Cano, Jesus Delgado, Alexandrea Preez, Lynnette Lopez, Raymond “Trace” Gagne, Marc Perez, Brian Garza, Angelica Molina, Madison Perez, Clarissa Rodriguez, Edwardo Castillo, Camila Suarez-Cepeda, Ana Gabriela Fernandez, Dylan Suarez, Vanessa Montes, Katrina Galvan, Nancy Lopez, Raul Gonzalez Caronda, Aaliyah Zambrana. The McAllen High Advisor is Ms. Jennifer Rodriguez.

Memorial’s 2018-19 Yearbook staff includes Avery Stites, Editor-in-Chief; Quinn Sullivan, Co-editor; Sydney Song, Co-editor; Anahi Villagomez, Copy Editor; Yael Silberman, Copy Editor; Lexi Pena, Photo Editor; Victoria Velasco, Organizational Editor; Aliah Arafat, Business Manager along with staff members Stacia Benitez, Xitlali Cabrera, Robin Eddy, Jackie Garza, Balbina Gonzalez, Fernie Gonzalez, Kaylee Holden, Esteban Lepe, Elise Liska, Pamela Orfanos, Emily Payne, Frida Ramirez, Kayla Robles, Joseph Salinas, Talisa Trevino, Mariella Vela and Mia Yarto. The Memorial Advisor is Ms. Kelsey E. Martin.

View the 2020 Yearbook Yearbook here: